The GUI configurator should be aware if a previusly created OpenAM configuration already exists in the specified directory.
If the directories are discovered to contain information, an additional step should be added advising the user of existing config data and then asking if the user wants to overwrite it all. If the user chooses the contents to be removed, the existing configuration files should be deleted from the directory and replaced with a new set of files. The existing content of the install.log of the previous installation should however be kept and the new log entries appended to it.
This would help users avoid running the configurator unsuccessfully over and over before realizing that the configuration files need to be deleted manually before redeploying OpenAM.
At the very least, a warning that the existing configuration files need to be deleted should be displayed if the configuration fails.