In OOB 4.0 removing a role from a user does not get written to the activity log's after column; however, adding a role does get added to before/after column.
Steps to reproduce:
- create an account using the admin UI;
- create a role such as Employee
- add role Employee to a user
- remove the same role;
- inspect the activity logs;
- notice that the after column on the delete action is empty.