[OPENIDM-11680] Upgrade process to 5.5.1.1 should contain removing of workflow.json file from conf. Created: 11/Sep/18  Updated: 18/Feb/19  Resolved: 12/Sep/18

Status: Closed
Project: OpenIDM
Component/s: _Update, Module - Workflow
Affects Version/s: OpenIDM 5.5.1.1
Fix Version/s: OpenIDM 5.5.1.1

Type: Bug Priority: Minor
Reporter: Jakub Janoska [X] (Inactive) Assignee: patrick diligent
Resolution: Won't Fix Votes: 0
Labels: release-notes, sustaining
Remaining Estimate: Not Specified
Time Spent: Not Specified
Original Estimate: Not Specified
Environment:

OpenIDM version "5.5.1.1-RC1" (revision: 21f9b73) jenkins-OpenIDM - 5.5.x - Release-51 sustaining/5.5.x


Target Version/s:
Verified Version/s:
QA Assignee: Jakub Janoska [X] (Inactive)

 Description   

When I tried to update from 5.5.0.x to 5.5.1.1. workflow.json remains in conf folder. Due to this workflow.json is workflow enabled by default and it's a root case of issue in self-service UI, when admin disable workflow in settings.

workflow.json should be removed from all conf folder (default conf and sample conf, except -provisioning-with-workflow & sync-asynchronous).

Workaround: 

  • This issue disappears after disabling and enabling workflow by admin. After that the behavior is correct even after the next disabling of workflow.

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Install OpenIDM 5.5.0 with JDBC repo (tested with MySQL)
  2. Upgrade to OpenIDM 5.5.1.1 (full bits)
  3. For example start openimd with sample 'sync-with-csv'
  4. Log in to admin.

Expected result: Workflow should be disabled.

Actual result: Workflow is enabled.

  1. Disable workflow
  2. Switch to self-service UI

Expected result: Workflow widget is not loaded.

Actual result: Workflow widget is loaded and error is observed.

 

Tested on OpenIDM version "5.5.1.1-RC1" (revision: 21f9b73) jenkins-OpenIDM - 5.5.x - Release-51 sustaining/5.5.x.



 Comments   
Comment by patrick diligent [ 12/Sep/18 ]

Mark Offutt [X]

The update process is not elaborated enough to remove workflow.json. Files to remove are specified in update.json. In this process there is no intelligence to determine wether a file can be removed based on some context. If workflow is active before the update, then workflow.json should NOT be removed. So this could be a note in the release notes.

Alternatively, the update process deletes the "/enabled" property in workflow.json. Therefore, the UI should add a test to check wether this flag is present - and if not, then should show the workflow dashboard. Then further on/off in the admin UI will cause workflow.json to be deleted anyway. Will investigate this avenue. That does not work either - was removed already in 4.5

Furthermore, the update process does not include the samples

Comment by patrick diligent [ 12/Sep/18 ]

Include in release notes

<< After updating, if workflow is not in use, go to the admin UI and disable workflow in the system preferences>>

Comment by Jakub Janoska [X] (Inactive) [ 12/Sep/18 ]

Sounds good and thank you for investigation. 

cc Gene Hirayama

Comment by Mark Offutt [X] (Inactive) [ 12/Sep/18 ]

Also, this is the same behavior when updating from 5.5.0 to 6.0: the workflow.json remains in the directory.

Generated at Wed Nov 25 08:16:12 UTC 2020 using Jira 7.13.12#713012-sha1:6e07c38070d5191bbf7353952ed38f111754533a.